REGULAR MEETING TOWN OF WAYNESVILLE HISTORIC PRESERVATION COMMISSION MARCH 7, 2001 WEDNESDAY - 2:00 P.M. TOWN HALL

The Waynesville Historic Preservation Commission (HPC) held a regular meeting on Wednesday, March 7, 2001. Members present were Ruth Chacto, Sandra Owen, Bette Sprecher, Georgia Forney, Alexander Lesueur, Ron Fleenor and Helen Malina. Others present were Planning and Zoning Manager John Swift and Town Clerk Phyllis McClure. Acting Chairman Ron Fleenor called the meeting to order at 2:21 p.m.

Approval of Minutes of February 7, 2001

Bette Sprecher moved, seconded by Alexander Lesueur, to approve the minutes of the February 7, 2001 meeting as presented. The motion carried unanimously.

Amendment to Rules of Procedure

John Swift said that paperwork was submitted in 1998, which may help the Frog Level area qualify as a historic district, will qualify the HPC as a local government and make it possible to apply for grant funds. Those documents have been lost and must now be resubmitted. Two minor changes have been made to the Waynesville Historic Preservation Commission Rules of Procedure. In Section 4.0 the membership was increased to nine (9) members and Section 5.4 increased the number of members required for a quorum to five (5).

Ron Fleenor moved, seconded by Ruth Chacto, to allow Chairman Helen Malina and Secretary Phyllis McClure to sign the amended Rules of Procedure. The motion carried unanimously.

OLD BUSINESS

Budget for Fiscal Year 2001-2001

Chairman Helen Malina drafted a proposed budget for presentation to the Board of Aldermen. This budget totaled \$4,400 as follows: \$900 for materials and supplies, \$1,800 training; \$500 promotion and awards and \$1,200 for plaques to recognize local landmark designations.

Ruth Chacto moved, seconded by Ron Fleenor, to approve the proposed budget for presentation to the Board of Aldermen as drafted by Chairman Malina. The motion carried unanimously.

Historic Preservation Week

At the last meeting a subcommittee was appointed to develop promotions for Historic Preservation Week which is May 13 through May 19, 2001. Bette Sprecher, Sandra Owen were appointed to this Committee, with Ruth Chacto to serve as an alternate member.

Sandra Owen and Bette Sprecher researched Historic Preservation Week and found a newspaper article from Historic Preservation Day in Waynesville on May 14, 1993. The Waynesville Historical Society held various contests and awards were presented to the winners at a ceremony held at Town Hall. Bette Sprecher reported that several contests are planned to promote and spread awareness of Historic Preservation Week this year. Sandra Owen has spoken with Jonathan Key of The Enterprise Mountaineer about printing an article for this year's events.

Sandra Owen and Bette Sprecher felt that information on the contests should be sent to the principal of each school in Waynesville and that they could work with Art and English teachers to get students involved in the contests. There was some discussion whether all schools in Haywood County should be included or only those inside Waynesville. Also whether private schools and students who are home schooled should also be included.

Bette Sprecher moved, seconded by Ruth Chacto, to include only those schools within Waynesville for the Historic Preservation Day special youth activities. The motion carried with five (5) ayes (Chacto, Owen, Sprecher, Forney, Lesueur) and two (2) nays (Fleenor, Malina).

Ron Fleenor moved, seconded by Helen Malina, to amend the previous motion. The motion carried with four (4) ayes (Owen, Malina, Forney, Fleenor), one (1) abstention (Chacto) which counts as an affirmative vote making a total of five (5) ayes, and one (1) nay (Sprecher).

Helen Malina moved, seconded by Ron Fleenor, to amend the previous motion to open the opportunity to celebrate Waynesville's (the Haywood County seat) history by observing Historic Preservation Week to all Haywood County school children in the form of a letter inviting all schools to participate. The motion carried unanimously.

Helen Malina said that Central Haywood High School could pick up any posters or essays at the various schools when ready and she can be reached by calling 454-4008. Ms. Malina will handle the architectural treasure hunt and take pictures of the historic landmarks to be identified in the landmark identification contest. Ms. Malina will be attending a school board meeting on Friday, March 9 and will distribute information for the contests for each of the schools in Haywood County at that time.

Sandra Owen and Bette Sprecher will contact the principal of each school in the Waynesville area. Sandra Owen will contact The Enterprise Mountaineer to have advertisements for the contests published around the end of April.

Bette Sprecher said that the Waynesville Historical Society will provide plaques and frames for the certificates; Helen Malina will have the certificates printed.

The Awards Ceremony will be held at the Waynesville Town Hall on Friday, May 18th at 4:30 p.m. Helen Malina said that the Haywood After School Program (HASP) will provide refreshments for

the event.

Judges for the essay and poster contests were suggested as follows:

Essay Contest: Wiley Smith, Bruce Briggs, Sam Smith and Charlie Sloan.

Poster Contest: Teresa Pennington, Chris Sylvester, Mildred Saunders and Barbara Quigley.

Judges for the essay and poster contests will be contacted to see if they are willing to jury the entries on May 15. All entries will be stored at the Waynesville Town Hall.

Designation of Frog Level Area as National Register Nomination

John Swift presented a letter from Sybil Bowers, Preservation Planning Consultant, regarding her proposal for preparing reports on the Frog Level area of Waynesville. The proposal is as follows:

Consulting service fees:

Study list application	\$ 450.00
National Register nomination	\$2,550.00 plus expenses
Local designation	\$2,050.00 plus expenses

Ruth Chacto moved, seconded by Bette Sprecher to recommend that Sybil Bowers be hired to proceed with the full National Register nomination. The motion carried unanimously.

Adjournment

With no further business, Ruth Chacto moved, seconded by Bette Sprecher, to adjourn the meeting at 4:05 p.m. The motion carried unanimously.

Helen Malina Chairman Phyllis R. McClure Secretary